h1

IE6 Nasty CSS Freeze

October 30, 2007

I was pulling my hair out for most of the day. I had a page that was working fine in Firefox and Safari, but every time a certain AJAX response came back, IE 6 would hang. It would go to 90% CPU and need to be killed from Task Manager.

I spent hours digging through JavaScript and ERB code, commenting things out, trying to track it down. I got it down to a single table. I commented out various parts of the ERB generating the table for about an hour. The syntax was fine. I was sure the code had no bugs. Getting frustrated I removed almost everything from the table. It was when I removed the style attribute that things finally started working.

Here’s the change that got it working in the end:


/* padding: 5px 0px 5px 0px; */
padding-left: 5px;
padding-top: 5px;

They do exactly the same thing, but for some reason the first is big trouble. Google points me to other people who have had this problem. From what I can tell, it may be triggered only inside floating div’s. I probably had one of those but was ready to call it a day once I found the problem.

If you are experiencing a nasty IE6 freeze then check your CSS for shorthand padding like the above.

5 comments

  1. Did that really do it? I think it did but as it turns out the two are not equivalent. Anyway, I ended up turning padding into margin in the end, which definitely fixed it but was not what I meant. Still, we have to continue to indulge IE6. I am happy to see the IE6 browser share has dropped below 20% in my log files.


  2. sweet yo………………..had a big prod issue with this ONE………..thank yo so much. Solved my problem.

    i love Bill Gates……………………and his IE


  3. Had the same problem with IE6 and CSS but I had to delete »white-space: no-wrap;« now it works


  4. The main cause is the style white-space: nowrap;
    This is a “known” bug in IE6 and fixed in IE7

    There are 2 workarounds to this issue
    1. wrap the text in . This can still cause issues in somecases.
    2. replace all spaces with  

    The later works best.


  5. opps HTML removed fixed 1. which is wrap the text in NOBR tags



Leave a Reply

